A few questions on Multi-Page App

Hi,

I am looking to use Panel to prototype a web portal. Think of it as exposing a multi-sheet Excel model as a web app. I tried using Streamlit and ran into layout and performance issues. I came across an article by @Marc and have been exploring Panel this week. But now I’m more at a time crunch if I want to switch framework. I would like to build a layout like the main Panel site with a similar top menu. I would like to code each menu item to call a separate .py file. Here are my questions. (Please excuse me if some answers are obvious since I’m new to Panel)

• What widget should I use for the top menu?
  • What is the recommended layout or Template I should be using?
  • What is the difference between FastGridTemplate and using GridSpec?
  • Is there a good reference or sample for working with multiple pages?
  • How to invoke new pages? How to share variable states?
  • With the panel serve command, it seems on Windows, I need to specify all the pages rather than using the *.py convention. I tried using Powershell and it didn’t seem to work. Is there a better solution to serve multiple pages on Windows 10?
  • I plan to deploy the app to Google Cloud Run or Google App Engine. Is that doable?
  • Is there any recommendation for a sample app that I should study to help me get started?

Just evaluating if Panel is the right framework to use at this stage. It seems to be a lot more flexible and more controllable than Streamlit. But I do find it somewhat difficult to get started. I would like to recommend more basic tutorials or simple standalone samples to help newbies like me start up more quickly. Any insight, discussion, or advice is welcome.

Thanks much,
AndyW

1 Like

Andy,