Communication between a notebook and an application

Hello,

I am new to both this forum and the (apparently great) holoviz ecosystem. Apologies if I’m posting to the wrong category (please let me know in this case and I will update the post accordingly).

I am looking for a way to do the following:

I have a Panel app able to plot data that are generated by Python functions. For now these functions are defined on the server side (i.e. the panel app), but I would like that the user can interactively provide her own custom Python functions to this app.

One way to do it would be to allow the user to define a custom function in a jupyter notebook, e.g.:

def f(x):
    return 2 * x

Then having a way to send this function definition from the notebook to the Panel app with a syntax like:

send_function(app_url='localhost:5006', function_to_send=f)

The function f would be serialized, sent to the app, and deserialized on the server side, such that the panel app can generate data using f.

Any idea on how I could achieve this?

Thanks a lot!

1 Like

HI @clement-moulin-frier

Welcome to the community.

The core problem

• to get access to the code
  • execute the code

To get access the code, the user could upload the notebook via a FileInput widget or just copy the code into the Ace editor widget. If the user uploads a notebook there are python packages that can convert it into a code string.

To execute the code string you can use exec.

Below I provide an example using the Ace editor widget. It would need some more error handling to be robust.

Please note executing user code on your server enables the user to take over or mess with your server!.

import panel as pn

pn.extension("ace", sizing_mode="stretch_width", template="fast", theme="dark")
pn.state.template.title="Code Editor"

CODE = """\
import pandas as pd
import hvplot.pandas

def plot(x):
    return pd.DataFrame({
        "x": range(x),
        "y": [y+x for y in range(x)]
    }).hvplot(x="x", y="y")
"""