Developping a panel app - dev tools for being efficient at it?

Hi,

I’ve been playing with panel for a while and think it’s a very useful librairy :slight_smile:.

But after a while, I was wondering, what are the best tools that one could use to efficiently develop a panel app?

Jupyter Notebook? Jupyter Lab? VS Code? Spyder? Some other IDE? A combination of those?

I find Notebooks to be super useful for quick prototyping, discovering how the library works, but I have the feeling that for bigger, more complex apps they hinder the development process. On the other hand, I’ve been trying to use VS Code with my app saved in one or several Python scripts (*.py) and running them with python -m bokeh serve --dev myapp.py. This is OK but I miss what I had with Jupyter, i.e. the possibility to interact with the objects I’ve created to better understand what I’m doing (also because I’d say that I’m a panel beginner).

Could you then share with which tools and how you develop your apps?

In the end, developing a GUI app isn’t something that is trivial when the app becomes complex. It’d be awesome to have a guide providing the best practices and tools that one could use to develop and debug a panel app :slight_smile:

I don’t want to forget to mention that Marc has published some docs about how to use VS Code for developing an app with panel.

Thanks!

3 Likes

Hi @MaximIt

This is really a good question. Or at least its also one that concerns me a lot.

Here are my current thoughts

1. As a beginner I would start out in a Notebook. It provides very fast feedback.
    • One problem though is that sometimes there are errors that only shows up in the browser console. I.e. you need to open that using CTRTL+SHIFT+I. Here Streamlit has a nicer way of working because it provides the error directly in the app it self. This helps beginners a lot.