Fast Remote Image Viewer

I’m trying to view data as images over a low speed network connection. The data are 2D numpy arrays of up to 1 million float elements. On start, I’m loading the image plots into a dictionary (and cache) and feeding the dictionary to a HoloMap. This appears to be the fastest option, but still a bit too laggy when scrolling though images over the slow connection.

The data come in batches and there is a time constraint. The up-front loading cost is tolerable, but it would be preferable if the images could begin displaying immediately while continuing to load.

Any suggestions for improving this design? Are there any client -side caching options? Serving static images or using compression? I have no experience with HTML or JavaScript.

Working synthetic example below. (I’m timing the data load but don’t know how to time the image render interval within HoloMap.)

import time
from multiprocessing import Pool

import holoviews as hv
import numpy as np
import panel as pn
from holoviews import opts
from holoviews.operation.datashader import regrid

hv.extension('bokeh')
pn.extension()

#  set global plot defaults
opts.defaults(
    opts.Image(
        height=400,
        width=800,
        cmap='gray',
        invert_yaxis=True,
        framewise=True,
        tools=['hover'],
        active_tools=['box_zoom'],
    ))

def read_data(m=2500, n=300):
    ''' simulated data i/o function '''
    data = np.random.rand(m, n)
    time.sleep(0.1)  # add some realistic delay
    return m, n, np.random.rand(m, n)

def create_image(path):
    ''' create image from data '''
    x0, x1, nparray = read_data()
    return path, hv.Image(nparray,
                          kdims=['x0', 'x1'],
                          bounds=[1, 1, x0, x1],
                          extents=(0, 1, x0 + 1, x1))

# synthetic data file names
files = [f'file_{i:03}.dat' for i in range(101)]

# preload & cache dictionary of filename:image pairs
start_counter = time.perf_counter()