Is Param not the most powerful python library in existence?

Hey all, I’m a financial data scientist, and I have been aggressively adopting the holoviz stack over the past two years for my development, visualization, and dashboarding workflow.

It has recently clicked that Param is the foundation that enables many of these powerful tools. I feel like Param makes python a strongly typed, object friendly, scalable systems architecture programming language. I feel like this is a game changing development, and I am really surprised that Param is not more widely known, used, and discussed. I find there are extremely few articles/stack overflow posts about Param, and I think this should change over time.

My question to the community: Do you guys see how profound Param is as a simple foundation for hierarchical object development in python? Or am I getting a little too hyped about all of this?

3 Likes

Param is definitely the foundation that makes it possible for a small group like ours to maintain tools this powerful without going crazy. It lets us set up interfaces that are well defended, ensuring that each specific part of the code (and each member of the team) doesn’t have to reason about all the other parts of the code. The richly declared Parameterized interfaces let us state clearly what each class or function does, and then we can just leave it, secure knowing that we’ll be alerted when we or users do anything not allowed by that contract. Whenever I hear people complaining about Python’s lax typing or Python not being appropriate for large codebases or anything like that, mentally I always say “well, of course, unless you use Param”. Of course, as the main person who made Param come into existence (not by coding it, but by noisily demanding it of my employees and students), the fact that I think that shouldn’t be surprising. But it’s nice to hear it from someone else who really “gets it”. :slight_smile: