Is there a difference in performance / ease of use between templates?

I have a dumb question , but I’m pretty lost and I was searching for a discord or chat place to ask this but as far as Templates go…
granted I’m a total noob. on a poor performance laptop.
Is there a ranking for the templates in terms of

• easiest to use
  • best performance

And I’m really getting lost in the libraries and correlation between them.
Like if all I know is Seaborn and Matplotlib ;
I just want a little bit of interaction and being able to share it with colleagues.
Is my understanding correct that kind of just Holoviews for everything ?

Like if someone had to communicate what to stick with just to get the fundamentals.
The problem I’m having is with building blocks ; like I can follow a tutorial on its own but connecting the dots I get lost.

I find the Panel & HoloViews User Guides to be very helpful. There is a section in the Panel guide on Performance and Debugging which discusses layouts. I use the bokeh backend for the interactivity but there is a section on matplotlib.
As a fellow noob, I feel that many of the examples contain too much magic and are missing some basic fundamentals. For example, how do I get the initial axis bounds of an hv.Scatter plot? (That said, I’m also new to bokeh and the magic may be due to my own naivete.).

1 Like

You know whats confusing about the templates docs is that all the pictures are the same , so im confused why one would choose one template over another.

Also another confusing thing is like how does one refresh the server automatically if i change something in jupyter .

From the templates if i want to have in the side panel another page so it goes to another set of dashboards . How does that happen .

Im 3 days into the documents , and as a noob there is a lot of friction and confusion . I think with the name “panels dashboard” i feel like i also run into a lot of faulty references from google .