MultiSelect widget with multiple options for each value

Hello! I would like to use the MultiSelect panel widget with multiple options for each value, and then use the selected option to render a plot, here is a simple test case of what I’m willing to do:

How can I have the same behavior in case of MultiSelect (display only unique values of the keys) and to link the widget to the plot should I use in this case @pn.depends(ticker.param.options) instead of value?
I’m kinda new to Panel and Python, I will appreciate your help, Thank you

Hi, if you want to display only unique triples for your MultiSelect, you can use the drop_duplicates function when you set the options.

multi_select = pn.widgets.MultiSelect(name='Test', 
                          value=test_list,
                          options= test_dtf[test_list].drop_duplicates().values.tolist())

For linking the selector with a plot, you can make a param.Parameterized class. In that case you can use a param.ListSelector instead of a pn.widgets.MultiSelect.

Here is an example :

import panel as pn
import pandas as pd
import param 
import holoviews as hv
import hvplot.pandas

class AppTest(param.Parameterized):
    test_dict = {"key1" : ['A']*20,
                 "key2" : [1]*20,
                 "key3": [1,2]*10,
                 "value" : [100]*20}

test_dtf = pd.DataFrame(test_dict)
    test_list = ['key1','key2','key3']
    multi_select = param.ListSelector(objects=test_dtf[test_list].drop_duplicates().values.tolist())

@param.depends('multi_select')
    def view(self):
        if not self.multi_select:
            return hv.Curve([])
        else:
            df=pd.DataFrame(self.multi_select,columns=['val','x','y'])
            return df.hvplot.scatter('x','y')

pn.extension()
viewer = AppTest()
pn.Row(pn.Param(viewer.param),viewer.view)
1 Like