Plotting Large Datasets

I´m working with a large dataset ( 62576606 rows) and I´m trying to plot a ScatterPlot. It breaks my Jupyter Notebook book because of the memory. I´ve tried to use

holoviews.operation.datashader (datashade, shade, dynspread, rasterize) as like in the example from http://holoviews.org/user_guide/Large_Data.html, but I did´t work. Anybody has any kind of guide to work with large datasets in Holoviews?

Hi @saulobertolino

I’m not an expert in datashader but if you could post a minimum code example of What you have been trying and a link to the data then i think the community would be able to help.

1 Like

You can also try with starting a notebook with this command:

jupyter notebook --NotebookApp.iopub_data_rate_limit=1.0e10

Hi @saulobertolino,

I don’t normally use that amount of data in one go, for myself I normally work with about a quarter of that and usually just fine anyway I gave the following a try with some random data generating a pandas dataframe with 63072001 rows - I have no doubt could be better but anyway. Note I have a windows 10 hp elitebook machine with 16GB ram, this pushes it to 80% + ram usage with a few other bits running - all done from within jupyter lab

Generate some random data in df

#adapted from https://stackoverflow.com/questions/42941310/creating-pandas-dataframe-with-datetime-index-and-random-values-in-column

import pandas as pd
import numpy as np
from datetime import datetime, timedelta

date_today = datetime.now()
days = pd.date_range(date_today, date_today + timedelta(730), freq='s')

np.random.seed(seed=1111)
data = np.random.randint(1, high=100, size=len(days))
df = pd.DataFrame({'Datetime': days, 'data': data})

Now get data into shape and plot

import holoviews as hv
import datashader as ds

from holoviews.operation.datashader import datashade, rasterize
from holoviews import opts, dim

import holoviews.operation.datashader as hd
hv.extension("bokeh", "matplotlib")