TextEditor Widget

First of all, thank you very much for your attention. This is my first time so my apologies in advance.
I have been working on a speech recognition problem transcribing voice to text. I need to move from audio to text or text to audio ( audio recording and the corresponding transcribed text) depending on different circumstances. I have been working with Panel to avoid any web coding in JS. As expected, after the initial phases, I need some guidance to move forward.

I’m working with the TextEditor widget and I’m lost on how to capture the events associated with a selected text via double-click or a direct selection of a text via mouse. Is any way to capture the selected text in a TextEditor widget?

I have reviewed the documentation and the different available mechanisms, but I have only managed to capture via callback when the “value” attribute changes, but I cannot capture any selection event in the GUI. I need to know what the selected text has been, and its relative positioning with respect to the beginning of the text. I’m not familiar with JS, so reviewing Quill.js hasn’t been much help.

Please, do you have any suggestions?
Thanks, in advance,

1 Like

Hi,

you can create a custom-selected text component with the ReactiveHTML component. An event listener set the property in the selected text attribute.

import panel as pn
import param 

wysiwyg = pn.widgets.TextEditor(placeholder='Enter some text')

class SelectedText(pn.reactive.ReactiveHTML):

selected_text = param.String(default='', doc='The selected text')

_template = """
<div id="area"> ${selected_text} </div>
"""

_scripts = {
        'render': """
    document.addEventListener('mouseup', event => {  
        if(window.getSelection().toString().length){
            let exactText = window.getSelection().toString();        
            console.log(exactText);
            data.selected_text = exactText;
        }
    }
    )   
    """
    }

@param.depends('selected_text', watch=True)