Training XGBoost with PyScript and Panel

Hi Guys,

Would like to thank Marc for inviting me to this Discord.

Last week I’ve created a simple example of training an XGBoost model in HTML using PyScript and Panel. You can see the example here:

www.trainxgb.com

I am new to Panel, and really don’t have much experience with front-end web development, so the example I created was very rudimentary. Two main things that I’d like to add to my script would be:

1. Additional sliders for more hyperparameters.

2. A dedicated train button that trains the model when pressed - I believe rn all models are trained at once.

If any of you have any good suggestions on how to accomplish that within the example above, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Best,

Bojan

1 Like

Hi @tunguz, sorry for the delay.

I’ve added your example to the gallery here with some additional parameters:

To add a button you could rewrite it like this:

import panel as pn

from sklearn.datasets import load_iris
from sklearn.metrics import accuracy_score
from xgboost import XGBClassifier

pn.extension(sizing_mode="stretch_width", template="fast")

pn.state.template.param.update(title="XGBoost Example")

iris_df = load_iris(as_frame=True)

n_trees = pn.widgets.IntSlider(start=2, end=30, name="Number of trees")
max_depth = pn.widgets.IntSlider(start=1, end=10, value=2, name="Maximum Depth") 
booster = pn.widgets.Select(options=['gbtree', 'gblinear', 'dart'], name="Booster")
train = pn.widgets.Button(name='Train')

def pipeline(_):
    model = XGBClassifier(max_depth=max_depth.value, n_estimators=n_trees.value, booster=booster.value)
    model.fit(iris_df.data, iris_df.target)
    accuracy = round(accuracy_score(iris_df.target, model.predict(iris_df.data)) * 100, 1)
    return pn.indicators.Number(
        name="Test score",
        value=accuracy,
        format="{value}%",
        colors=[(97.5, "red"), (99.0, "orange"), (100, "green")],
        align='center'
    )

pn.Row(