Zoom to Changing Geospatial Data in a Panel/GeoViews Dashboard

Hello HoloViz/GeoViews/Panel-ers,

This is my first project using HoloViz - really impressed by how powerful it is. I am working on building the first of several dashboards to visualize geospatial and timeseries data related to streamflow forecasts and the models/datasets that generate them.

I have made some good progress getting the behavior I want but seem to be stuck on one aspect. On the map component a user can visualize different measures in different geographic regions based on user selected parameters in dropdowns, then, if a user selects (clicks) a polygon, they are shown additional information about that area (just the polygon name in this example). When the users chooses a different measure, I don’t want the map extents to change (they don’t in my example), but when a user chooses a different region, I want the map to zoom to the new region (it doesn’t in my example).

I created a simple working example that has the major parts that my first dashboard will have, but simplified to demonstrate the issue I am having (see link below for notebook). Basically, when a user selects region “18” from the drop down, I want it to zoom to the newly drawn polygons (in CA), but when the user selects a new measure, I don’t want the zoom level to change. I have tried playing xlim/ylim but don’t seem to be able to figure out how I would trigger/apply that if I were to take the route. I am having difficulty understanding how all the pieces of the HoloViz ecosystem fit together and would really appreciate any feedback/thoughts/things to try.

I suspect the solution my fall in this chunk of code, so I posted directly in the post, but a working notebook is attached.

measure_selector = get_measure_selector()
huc_selector = get_huc_selector()

catchment_polygons = pn.bind(
    get_catchments, 
    catchment_id=huc_selector.param.value, 
    measure=measure_selector.param.value
)