Scatter plot of xarray Dataset with coords: One point to select

I am relatively new to data analysis in Python so please excuse if the following is just plain stupid. Also my issue seems to be comparable to this issue.

When I create a scatter plot of an xarray Dataset with dimension but no defined coordinate values, the scatter plot is as expected. However, when I add coordinate values to the Dataset, the scatter plot shows just one point with the option to select the point by its coordinates. Obviously, this is not what I want with a scatter plot.

Here the example:

import hvplot.xarray
import numpy as np
import xarray as xr

ta = xr.DataArray(np.random.random((2, 3, 4)), dims=("time", "lat", "lon"))
tsurf = xr.DataArray(np.random.random((2, 3, 4)), dims=("time", "lat", "lon"))

ds = xr.Dataset({"ta": ta, "tsurf": tsurf})

ds.plot.scatter(x="tsurf", y="ta")
ds.hvplot.scatter(x="tsurf", y="ta")

ta = ta.assign_coords({"time": [0, 12], "lat": [0, 1, 2], "lon": [0, 1, 2, 3]})

While the first hvplot.scatter does what I want, I get the following with the second:

Is this a bug or a feature? If a bug, is it a bug of hvplot or holoviz so that I create the bug report in the right repository? Or is it me being stupid? :wink:

The sliders are by design, as they allow you to explore multi-dimensional datasets.

If you want all points at once, you can either apply dimensionality reduction, such as .mean()/.sum()/.median()/etc on your dataset, or you can pass the dimension names to the by argument in the plot call, drop the legend, and then set the color to be the same:

ds.hvplot.scatter(x="tsurf",y="ta",by=['time','lat','lon'],legend=False,c='blue')

With legend on:

ds.hvplot.scatter(x="tsurf",y="ta",by=['time','lat','lon'],responsive=True).opts(min_height=600,legend_position='bottom',legend_cols=10)

1 Like

Thank you very much. This works, however, it is very slow; too slow actually for my data. To show that, I simplified my example a bit

import hvplot.xarray